Death in Avignon: A Penelope Kite Novel (Paperback)

Death in Avignon: A Penelope Kite Novel Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 4 12:01pm
(MYSTERY)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Penelope Kite series.

Description


Set amidst the gorgeous backdrop of Provence, Serena Kent’s second book in the deliciously entertaining Penelope Kite series finds the amateur sleuth romantically linked with the mayor of St. Merlot and dashing to solve the murder of an expat artist—perfect for fans of Peter Mayle and Agatha Christie.

After an eventful first few months in Provence, it seems Penelope is finally settling into her delightful new life, complete with a gorgeous love interest in the mayor of St. Merlot.

When Penelope and the mayor attend a glamorous gallery opening, Penelope’s biggest worry is embarrassing herself in front of her date. But the evening takes a horrifying turn when a controversial expat painter, Roland Doncaster, chokes to death.

A tragic accident? Or a malicious plot? Reluctantly drawn into the murder investigation, Penelope discovers that any number of jealous lovers and scheming rivals could be involved. And with dashing art dealers to charm, patisseries to resist, and her own friends under suspicion, Penelope will need to draw upon all her sleuthing talents to uncover the truth.

Set against the stunning vistas of Provence, Serena Kent returns with the second installment of her charming mystery series featuring the unflappable Penelope Kite.

About the Author


Serena Kent is the nom de plume of Deborah Lawrenson and her husband Robert Rees. They met at Cambridge University and pursued completely different careers, she in journalism and fiction; he in banking and music. They live in a house full of books in England, and an old hamlet in Provence which is also in dire need of more bookshelves.

Praise For…


“Outstanding. … [Kent] creates an appealing community for this winning stranger in a strange land…. Armchair travelers will be well satisfied.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062869883
ISBN-10: 0062869884
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2020
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: Penelope Kite