Adirondack History Books

Titles available now at The Bookstore Plus. Please inquire about autographed titles in stock.

The only complete history coupled with the best images of the Lake Placid Club. By David H. Ackerman


The Plains of Abraham Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780975522431
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nicholas K. Burns Publishing - January 1st, 2007

Great History on Lake Placid and North Elba


Lake Placid and North Elba, A History Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780971992870
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: The Bookstore Plus - January 1st, 2002

$22.95
SKU: 9781933994741

Inside the Club by Barbara Campbell. Stories of the employees of the former Lake Placid Club


A Long Shot to Glory: How Lake Placid Saved the Winter Olympics and Restored the Nation's Pride Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781457512872
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dog Ear Publishing - July 3rd, 2012

Pre-order your copy today!


Small Town, Big Dreams DVD. Lake Placid's Olympic History in an award winning documentary.


Great Lake Placid History. Olympics and more


Heaven Up-h'isted-ness! Cover Image
$29.50
ISBN: 9780615344898
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Adirondack Forty-Sixers, Inc. - January 1st, 2011

Heaven Up-h'isted-ness and Adirondack 46er compilation. Contains list of 46ers through February of 2011.


Staff Pick Badge
Split Rock Wildway: Scouting the Adirondack Park's Most Diverse Wildlife Corridor Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780996787079
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Essex Editions - November 21st, 2017

Staff Pick Badge
At the Mercy of the Mountains: True Stories of Survival and Tragedy in New York's Adirondacks Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781599213040
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Lyons Press - February 26th, 2008

In the tradition of Eiger Dreams, In the Zone: Epic Survival Stories from the Mountaineering World, and Not Without Peril, comes a new book that examines the thrills and perils of outdoor adventure in the “East’s greatest wilderness,” the Adirondacks.


This fascinating book contains the biographies of and stories told by 29 Women Winter 46ers.


The Adirondacks: A History of America's First Wilderness Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780805059908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Holt Paperbacks - September 15th, 1998

A staff favorite for a general history of the Adirondack Park.


$24.95
SKU: 9780932052872

In this compilation, photographer Seneca Ray Stoddard's century-old Adirondack photographs are presented next to Marc Bowie's modern-day images of the same locations. A fascinating book that illustrates the evolution of Adirondack landscape and people!


A history of the amazing feat that was the building of the railroad that stretched through the Adirondacks from New York City to Montreal.


A collection of real Adirondack ghost stories!


Adirondack Camps: Homes Away from Home, 1850-1950 Cover Image
$49.95
ISBN: 9780815606260
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Syracuse University Press - May 1st, 2000

A wonderfully detailed history of camps in the Adirondacks.


Indexed and illustrated with 113 historic and present-day photos, this book is of interest to history buffs, researchers wishing to understand the Outdoor Life once lived at Saranac Lake, and to architectural historians tracing the influence of that life on buildings all over the United States. This book celebrates the cure porch and the compassionate community and triumph over disease that it represents.


150 wonderfully illustrated historical sketches about the history of the Adirondacks!


Adirondack: Life and Wildlife in the Wild, Wild East (Excelsior Editions) Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781438454146
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Excelsior Editions/State University of New Yo - July 1st, 2014

Adirondack Wildlife: A Field Guide Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781584657491
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University Press of New England - April 30th, 2009

$24.95
SKU: 9780996116831

$16.00
SKU: 9780989199636

An interesting, well-researched book that sheds new light on the 1906 Gillette-Brown murder.


Staff Pick Badge
Lost Ski Areas of the Northern Adirondacks Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781626191495
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: History Press (SC) - October 14th, 2014

Lost Ski Areas of the Southern Adirondacks Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781609493844
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: History Press - July 17th, 2012

Tailspin: The Strange Case of Major Call Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9780945167532
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: British American Publishing - May 7th, 2004

Major Call had it all: he was a war hero with a beautiful wife, a new baby, and a promising aviation career ahead of him. But when his wife died in 1954, Call's life went into a tailspin. Always a gambler and a risk taker, he went AWOL and began a crime spree that would end in the murder of a policeman in Lake Placid, NY. But novelist and former FBI agent Conners thinks that Call was involved in another murder and shows evidence that he was the "bushy-haired stranger" in the notorious Sheppard murder in Bay Village, OH.


Escape from Dannemora: Richard Matt, David Sweat, and the Great Adirondack Manhunt Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781611689761
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: ForeEdge - April 4th, 2017

A compilation of Bob Marshall's writings that show the importance of wilderness preservation.


$39.95
SKU: 9780922595518

A fascinating description of the life of Louie Seymour, an Adirondack woodsman who lived in the late 1800s.


$29.95
SKU: 9780925168665

$21.95
SKU: 9781595310453

Extraordinary Adirondack Journey of Clarence Petty: Wilderness Guide, Pilot, and Conservationist Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780815608707
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Syracuse University Publications in Continuin - June 21st, 2007

The Man Who Dared to Dream: The Story of Julian Reiss Cover Image
$10.00
ISBN: 9781935258476
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Husky Trail Press LLC - February 28th, 2018

Woodswoman: Young Ecologist Meets Challenge Living Alone Adirondack Wilderness Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780140153347
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - October 11th, 1991

Woodswoman II Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780393320596
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 17th, 2000

John Brown, Abolitionist: The Man Who Killed Slavery, Sparked the Civil War, and Seeded Civil Rights Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780375726156
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - November 14th, 2006

John Brown (Modern Library Classics) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780679783534
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Modern Library - July 10th, 2001

$12.50
SKU: 9780935796292

$24.95
SKU: 9780974394336

$31.99
SKU: 9780989032872

$21.00
SKU: 9780977101719

$24.95
SKU: 9780974394336

A Not Too Greatly Changed Eden: The Story of the Philosophers' Camp in the Adirondacks Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781501704451
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Cornell University Press - May 3rd, 2016

Archeology in the Adirondacks: The Last Frontier Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781512602623
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University Press of New England - June 5th, 2018

Contested Terrain: A New History of Nature and People in the Adirondacks Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9780815609049
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Syracuse University Press - June 27th, 2008