Adirondack History Books

Titles available now at The Bookstore Plus. Please inquire about autographed titles in stock.

The only complete history coupled with the best images of the Lake Placid Club. By David H. Ackerman


High Peaks Trails Guide Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781931951135
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Adirondack Mountain Club - September 1st, 2013

The hiking guide that is our staff favorite. References both the Adk Mtn Club map and the National Geographic map for the High Peaks region. Updated in August 2012!


Heaven Up-h'isted-ness! Cover Image
$29.50
ISBN: 9780615344898
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Adirondack Forty-Sixers, Inc. - January 1st, 2011

Heaven Up-h'isted-ness and Adirondack 46er compilation. Contains list of 46ers through February of 2011.


The Plains of Abraham Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780975522431
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nicholas K. Burns Publishing - January 1st, 2007

Great History on Lake Placid and North Elba


Lake Placid and North Elba, A History Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780971992870
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: The Bookstore Plus - January 1st, 2002

Staff Pick Logo
At the Mercy of the Mountains: True Stories of Survival and Tragedy in New York's Adirondacks Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781599213040
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Lyons Press - February 26th, 2008

In the tradition of Eiger Dreams, In the Zone: Epic Survival Stories from the Mountaineering World, and Not Without Peril, comes a new book that examines the thrills and perils of outdoor adventure in the “East’s greatest wilderness,” the Adirondacks.


The Adirondacks: A History of America's First Wilderness Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9780805059908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Holt McDougal - September 15th, 1998

A staff favorite for a general history of the Adirondack Park.


Tailspin: The Strange Case of Major Call Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9780945167532
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: British American Publishing - May 7th, 2004

Major Call had it all: he was a war hero with a beautiful wife, a new baby, and a promising aviation career ahead of him. But when his wife died in 1954, Call's life went into a tailspin. Always a gambler and a risk taker, he went AWOL and began a crime spree that would end in the murder of a policeman in Lake Placid, NY. But novelist and former FBI agent Conners thinks that Call was involved in another murder and shows evidence that he was the "bushy-haired stranger" in the notorious Sheppard murder in Bay Village, OH.


Small Town, Big Dreams DVD. Lake Placid's Olympic History in an award winning documentary.


In this compilation, photographer Seneca Ray Stoddard's century-old Adirondack photographs are presented next to Marc Bowie's modern-day images of the same locations. A fascinating book that illustrates the evolution of Adirondack landscape and people!


An interesting, well-researched book that sheds new light on the 1906 Gillette-Brown murder.


This fascinating book contains the biographies of and stories told by 29 Women Winter 46ers.


A history of the amazing feat that was the building of the railroad that stretched through the Adirondacks from New York City to Montreal.


A compilation of Bob Marshall's writings that show the importance of wilderness preservation.


A fascinating description of the life of Louie Seymour, an Adirondack woodsman who lived in the late 1800s.


$7.95
SKU: 9780970071811

A collection of real Adirondack ghost stories!


Adirondack Camps: Homes Away from Home, 1850-1950 Cover Image
By Craig Gilborn, Paul Malo (Foreword by)
$49.95
ISBN: 9780815606260
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Syracuse University Press - May 31st, 2000

A wonderfully detailed history of camps in the Adirondacks.


$18.95
SKU: 9780578078168

Spencer Morrissey's second edition to a great Adirondack hiking guide.


$28.00
SKU: 9780961515904

Indexed and illustrated with 113 historic and present-day photos, this book is of interest to history buffs, researchers wishing to understand the Outdoor Life once lived at Saranac Lake, and to architectural historians tracing the influence of that life on buildings all over the United States. This book celebrates the cure porch and the compassionate community and triumph over disease that it represents.


150 wonderfully illustrated historical sketches about the history of the Adirondacks!


$22.95
SKU: 9781933994741

Inside the Club by Barbara Campbell. Stories of the employees of the former Lake Placid Club


A Long Shot to Glory: How Lake Placid Saved the Winter Olympics and Restored the Nation's Pride Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781457512872
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dog Ear Publishing - July 3rd, 2012

Pre-order your copy today!


Great Lake Placid History. Olympics and more


$40.00
SKU: 9780981470238

  • 320 cliffs—that's 78 new ones since the first edition.
  • 3,100+ routes and variations—that's 1,162 new ones.
  • Comprehensive: includes every known route.

Content

  • Completely revised and updated.
  • Full route descriptions in an easy-to-read, comprehensive format.
  • New index-by-grade.
  • New region maps.
  • New crag planners that help you decide where to go.
  • 345 action photos.
  • 175 photo diagrams (aerial photos with route lines).
  • 135 cliff topos.
  • 104 approach maps.
  • 37 watercolors and pen-and-ink drawings.
  • 22 essays written by prominent Adirondack climbers.
  • Forewords by Tad Welch (English) and Loïc Briand (French).
  • Complete history of every cliff.
  • Quality ratings for routes and cliffs (0-5 stars).
  • GPS coordinates of every cliff and parking area.

Book Details

  • Two volumes contained in a slipcase, sold together for $40.00.
  • Each volume is 5½" x 8½" x 1", 2 pounds; 4 pounds for the set.
  • Volume 1 is 560 pages; volume 2 is 544 pages.
  • Printed on high-quality glossy paper.
  • Full color throughout.
  • Strong, smyth-sewn, lay-flat binding with PUR glue.


Fishing the Adirondacks: A Complete Angler's Guide to the Adirondack Park and Northern New York Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781580801805
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Burford Books - June 7th, 2016

Adirondack: Life and Wildlife in the Wild, Wild East Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781438454146
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Excelsior Editions/State University of New Yo - July 2014

Staff Pick Logo
Lost Ski Areas of the Northern Adirondacks Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781626191495
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: History Press (SC) - October 14th, 2014

Escape from Dannemora: Richard Matt, David Sweat, and the Great Adirondack Manhunt Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781611689761
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Foreedge - April 4th, 2017

Adirondack Wildlife: A Field Guide Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781584657491
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University Press of New England - April 30th, 2009

$39.95
SKU: 9780922595518